• ICP Web

What is the ruling of consuming multi-vitamins that contain gelatin?


What is the ruling of consuming multi-vitamins that contain gelatin? Answer: ِﺑ ْﺴ ِﻢ ا ِﷲ اﻟ ﱠﺮ ْﺣﻤ ِﻦ اﻟ ﱠﺮ ِﺣْﯿﻢ In the name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful

It is prohibited to consume such a multivitamin capsule that contains gelatin which was derived from either a pig or such an animal (e.g. cow) that was not slaughtered according to Islamic law. Alternatively, you may consume multivitamins which its gelatin is either fish or plant-based. In addition, multivitamins in the form of tablets are also widely available. (Fatawa Darul Uloom Zakariya: v. 6, p. 595 [Zamzam]). Kindly refer to the following link to find a halal alternative: https://www.noorvitamins.com/

Only Allah knows best

Written by Maulana Mohammad Ahsan Osmani Checked and approved by Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah Darul Ifta Birmingham

Recent Posts

See All

Kosher or halal labeled capsule

Question: If the medicine in the form of a soft-gel capsule says Kosher or Halal, and gelatin is derived from a water buffalo, would it be okay to consume? If I cannot consume it, can I give it to a n

Hadith about diseases and its cures

Question: Salam, with the current Coronavirus situation etc many people are sharing conspiracy theories saying its man made etc. I was always told that all disease and cure comes from Allah is there a




© 2020 by Islamic Center of Pflugerville