• Darul Ifta tx

Covid vaccines

Question

I want to know the guidance on the COVID-19 vaccination. There are some vaccinations which consist of non-permissible ingredients, especially the cell lining taken from the human fetus. So, what is the guidance on taking the vaccination provided the fact that a person does not have a choice to select a vaccination because I think they administer whichever vaccine is present at the time of one's appointment. Please guide which vaccine is fine for Muslims and which isn't so that we can select the right one if given the choice. Also, please guide if there is no choice and if somehow one is presented with a non-permissible vaccine then one takes it or opts out of vaccine?


بِسْمِ اللهِ الرَّحْمنِ الرَّحِيْم

In the name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful

Answer:

As of March 19, 2021, there are three available vaccines in North America—Pfizer-BioNTech, Moderna, and Johnson and Johnson/Janssen. All the afore-mentioned vaccines are permissible to use for Muslims living in North America.

It is prohibited to derive benefit from any portion of a human being because Allah (SWT) has honored the children of Adam (A.S.). People are mainly concerned with the J&J vaccine because it was manufactured using fetal cells. Nevertheless, the vaccine itself does not contain any fetal cells on account of the vaccine going through extensive processing. As a result, no trace of the fetal cells remains.

Biochemists play a significant role in the development of vaccines. I personally spoke with one regarding this matter[1], and he confirmed that there are no fetal cells in the J&J vaccine. In addition, I have attached an email from J&J regarding the ingredients of the vaccine.


Fatawa Hindiya: v. 1, p. 50 (DKI); Raddul Muhtar: v. 4, p. 397 (Maktaba Imdadia)





Only Allah knows best

Written by Maulana Mohammad Ahsan Osmani

Checked and approved by Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah

Darul Ifta Birmingham

[1] https://umexpert.um.edu.my/eaqubali.html

Covid_Vaccine_Email
.pdf
PDF • 354KB

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kosher or halal labeled capsule

Question: If the medicine in the form of a soft-gel capsule says Kosher or Halal, and gelatin is derived from a water buffalo, would it be okay to consume? If I cannot consume it, can I give it to a n