top of page
  • Writer's pictureICP Web

Kosher or halal labeled capsule


If the medicine in the form of a soft-gel capsule says Kosher or Halal, and gelatin is derived from a water buffalo, would it be okay to consume? If I cannot consume it, can I give it to a non-Muslim to use instead of throwing it away? Kindly advise. Answer: ﺑﺴﻢ اﷲ اﻟﺮﺣﻤﻦ اﻟﺮﺣﯿﻢ In the name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful It is prohibited to consume such a capsule that contains gelatin which was derived from either a pig or such an animal (e.g. water buffalo or cow) that was not slaughtered according to Islamic law (Fatawa Darul Uloom Zakariyya: v. 6, p. 595 [Zamzam]). According to research and confirmation of Jewish Rabbis, Jews today do not recite the name of Allah ﺗﻌﺎﻟﻰ upon every animal during slaughter, thus the modern-day kosher method of slaughter does not meet the halal standards stipulated by Islamic law, therefore one should also avoid the consumption of gelatin derived from animals slaughtered according to today’s kosher method (Legal Rulings on Slaughtered Animals: p. 159-174 [Maktaba-e-Darul-’Uloom]). Medicine that is merely labeled “halal” is not sufficient to prove its permissibility. You will need to call the company and confirm that the animal from which the gelatin was derived was slaughtered according to the Islamic method. As long as you are unsure about the status of the capsule, you should avoid consuming it and search for a halal alternative that is: gelatin-free, its gelatin is derived from an animal that was slaughtered according to the Islamic method (i.e. it has been confirmed through authentic sources), or its gelatin is either fish or plant-based. There is a principle in Islamic law, “Whatever is prohibited to take, it is prohibited to give to others” (Al-Qawaid Al-Fiqhia wa Tatbeeqatuhaa fi Al-Madhahib Al-Arba’ah: v. 1, p. 398 [Darul Fikr-Dimushq]). On the basis thereof, you should endeavor to ascertain the status of the medication whether it contains haram ingredients or not. Afterward, if you still remain uncertain, discard the medication and do not give it to anyone.

Only Allah knows best

Written by Maulana Mohammad Ahsan Osmani Checked and approved by Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah Darul Ifta Birmingham

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Covid vaccines

Question I want to know the guidance on the COVID-19 vaccination. There are some vaccinations which consist of non-permissible ingredients, especially the cell lining taken from the human fetus. So, w


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page