• ICP Web

Non-alcoholic beer beverages in Islam ( eg: Heineken0.0 )

In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.


As-salāmu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullāhi wa-barakātuh


Drinking Non-alcoholic beverages is generally permissible in Islam, as there is no prohibition found in Shari’ah for it, like the soft drinks we have in our time and fruit juices etc. However, drinking no-alcohol beers (ex. Heineken0.0) is deemed haram in Islam for following reasons:


1)These drinks actually contain alcohol which is absolutely impermissible in Quran and Sunnah.


-[5:90] O you who have believed, indeed, intoxicants, gambling, [sacrificing on] stone alters [to other than Allah ], and divining arrows are but defilement from the work of Satan, so avoid it that you may be successful.


-It's the fact that most nonalcoholic beers actually aren't alcohol-free. In the United States, anything that's less than 0.5 percent alcohol by volume (ABV) can be labeled “non-alcoholic.”



2) Since alcohol is haram, even small amounts of it is also haram.


-The Messenger of Allah (ﷺ) said: Every intoxicating substance is haram, and whatever intoxicates in large amounts, a handful of it is haram [Tirmidhi]


3) Even traces of something haram makes a matter doubtful and we have been commanded to steer clear of all that causes doubt.


-Sayyiduna al-Hasan ibn ‘Ali (RA) who said: I memorized from the Messenger of Allah(ﷺ) : “Leave that which makes you doubt for that which does not make you doubt, for truth leads to reassurance and lies lead to uncertainty.” [Tirmidhi]


4)Imitation of disbelievers even in good is highly discouraged in Islam, let alone in something dubious in nature like these so-called “Halal beers”


And Allah knows best

Mufti Umer Farooq Saleem

0 views0 comments